DIY Haptic Control Glove

To test the working of a robot hand like the one I built earlier, I needed a haptic control glove that would encode the flexing of my fingers into electrical signals. These signals would be interpreted by a microcontroller (like the ATMEGA328 on the Arduino platform) and cause the servo motors on the robot hand to mimic my finger movements inside the glove. Electronic puppetry.

Robot Hand needs a puppeteer

Robot Hand needs a puppeteer

I was researching haptic gloves on the internet and came across one glove that was made over a period of four weeks by five students at one of the highest ranking technical colleges in the country. It cost them no less than 50 US$ in hardware.

Haptic Glove Made at one of the Country's Finest Technical Colleges

Haptic Glove made at one of the country’s finest technical colleges

Pah! I designed and built my glove, wrote the software and tested it, all in one day. Whats more, it cost me almost nothing to build, at most about 3 – 4 US $. I have no formal technical training and in my opinion, this project required very little technical skill to implement, just a basic understanding of Ohm’s law, some c++ and a little imagination.

This leads to me to the sad conclusion that technical students, even in the best colleges in the country are just learning to be script kiddies/lamers, using off the shelf components in their projects with very little imagination and innovation, just waiting out their time in India, until they get their H1B visas and fulfill their dreams to become worker bees at Silicon Valley. As the GL often says, education is wasted on the youth. Something is terribly wrong with education in this country, and if we don’t fix it fast, the future is going to be very very grim for all of us.

Anyway, here is the haptic glove that I made.

My DIY Haptic Glove

My DIY Haptic Glove

To test the glove, I wrote the following Arduino code. Analog Pins 0 to 4 are read and the raw values transmitted over Serial line to the PC. The data is formatted to be compliant with my ArduinoTalker Qt Class so that it can be easily interpreted and displayed using Qt 5.1.


int sensorPin[5] = {0,1,2,3,4};
int sensorVal[5] = {0,0,0,0,0};
int total = 0;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
for (int i = 0; i < 5; i ++)
{
int readVal = analogRead(sensorPin[i]);
sensorVal[i] = readVal;
}
Serial.print("*");
for (int i = 0; i < 5; i++)
{
Serial.print(sensorVal[i]);
total+= sensorVal[i];
Serial.print(",");
}
Serial.print(total);
Serial.print(",");
Serial.print("*");
Serial.print("&");
total = 0;
delay(200);
}

This is a youtube video documenting the build process and testing of the glove. In my next post, I will integrate this glove with my robot hand.

2 thoughts on “DIY Haptic Control Glove

  1. Pingback: Haptic Controlled Robot Hand | Bayesian Adventures

Leave a Reply

